

TOWNSHIP OF DERRY

Board of Supervisors Special Meeting Minutes Tuesday, September 24, 2024

CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chairwoman Nutt called the September 24, 2024, Special Meeting of the Township of Derry Board of Supervisors to order at 8:15 p.m. in the meeting room of the Township of Derry Municipal Complex, 600 Clearwater Road, Hershey, PA. She advised that all public meetings are recorded for providing accurate minutes. After the Pledge of Allegiance, a roll call was performed.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL

SUPERVISORS PRESENT: ALSO PRESENT:

Natalie L. Nutt Carter E. Wyckoff Michael P. Corado Richard D. Zmuda

ABSENT:

Christopher S. Christman, Township Manager Patrick Armstrong, Township Solicitor Garth Warner, Chief of Police Department Zachary Jackson, Assistant Township Manager

Tom Clark, Director of Public Works

Chuck Emerick, Director of Community Development David Habig, Asst. Director, Community Development David Sassaman, Hershey Volunteer Fire Company

Amy Walker, Director of Parks & Recreation

Jeff Cothren, Asst. Director, Hershey Public Library

Lynn Dawson, Recording Secretary

Eric Stump, HRG Engineer

Public in Attendance:

Rich Gamble, Geoffrey Crout, Ronald Furlan, Dominic Giovanniello, Tom Stang

NEW BUSINESS

Consideration of an appointment to fill a vacancy for the position of Township Supervisor (C. Christman)

Mr. Christman summarized, as the Board is aware, Supervisor Chris Abruzzo notified the Board at its regularly scheduled meeting on August 27, 2024, that it was his intent to resign from the position of Township Supervisor effective at the close of the Board's regularly scheduled business meeting on Tuesday, September 24, 2024. As per Section 407 (b)(1) of the Pennsylvania Second Class Township Code, the Board of Supervisors is required to accept by majority vote a resignation letter at a public meeting, which this Board accepted at its earlier meeting this evening. The Board of Supervisors directed the Administration to prepare an advertisement for the solicitation of resumes for the vacant position, which ran in the Township's E-news, website and social media channels. Mr. Christman stated the application period closed on Friday, September 6, 2024, at 4:00 p.m. and the Township

Board of Supervisors Special Meeting Minutes – September 24, 2024

received a total of twelve applications for this position. With an intended appointment during this special meeting, Mr. Christman stated the new Supervisor would be serving a term of fourteen months and this position will be on the ballot for the 2025 Municipal Election Cycle.

Prior to the Board review, Mr. Christman noted procedurally, if an appointment would be made during the Special Meeting, the individual appointed would be required to be sworn in at the next Board meeting by a judge or notary public prior to the next Board meeting. The Supervisors would also need to reorganize to set the positions for Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary.

Vice Chairwoman Nutt thanked Mr. Christman for the background as well as the applicants who submitted resumes for consideration. Vice Chairwoman Nutt provided details relating to the role of a Township Supervisor and shared her appreciation knowing they had many applicants who were willing to be involved in the Supervisor position with the Township.

Vice Chairwoman Nutt opened up the meeting to the Board to ask if a nomination was ready to be made.

Supervisor Wyckoff offered a nomination that the Board of Supervisors appoint Dominic Giovanniello to fill the vacancy for the position of Township Supervisor with a term expiring on December 31, 2025. Supervisor Wyckoff expanded by stating Mr. Giovanniello grew up in Derry Township and witnessed its growth, while being aware of the development and traffic issues that face the Board. Mr. Giovanniello also has experience with preparing decisions for Zoning Hearing Boards. Supervisor Zmuda seconded the motion. **Motion carried 4-0.**

VISITOR/PUBLIC COMMENTS

No public comments noted.

ADJOURNMENT

SURMITTED RV.

Supervisor Zmuda made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:25 p.m. Supervisor Corado seconded the motion. **Motion carried 4-0.**

Carter E. Wyckoff, T	ownship Secr	etarv	